cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
CChong
By Level 11 Flexeran
Level 11 Flexeran
hello everyone,

i am new to install shield and admin studio plz anybody can help me by telling me how to make a package of oracle client i tried alot using install shield but of no use then somebody on the forum told me about the admin studio, now plz giude me in detail that how i can make a package of oracle client using admin studio will it work fine plz help me its an urgent issue.
(7) Replies
I would suggest you get a demo copy of AdminStudio and try. I have repackaged one application that required Oracle client.
CChong
By Level 11 Flexeran
Level 11 Flexeran
Are they any good instructions somewhere on how to do this?
Repackaging requires understanding in Microsoft Windows Installer (MSI) technology, as well as significant amount of experiences. It is not something that can be mastered in a matter of weeks.

A word from our sponsor, Repackaging and Application Migration using AdminStudio will be beneficial in the long run.
and the oracle client is one of the more advanced packages to capture as well .

you need to modify the Oracle_Home registry keys so that it can detect all other versions of oracle which may be installed as well.

otherwise a captured version of oracle will toast any previously installed oracles.

therefore where you find instances of HOME0 and ID0 in your package you need to modify them to HOME[ORACLEID] and ID[ORACLEID] then create a CA which sets that value of ORACLEID based on what is on the machine already.

its quite tricky if you want to do it right. you will also need to populate the oracle.key file with similar entries.

:confused:
Installing the Oracle Client is not impossible, it can be done and InstallShield is the way to go.

My latest package is a Multiple version (8.05/8.17/9i) network install, for about 6000 customers.