cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SQL Server Installations

Hello all,

I've just noticed today that we have a large amount of SQL Server 2016 and 2019 installs appear in Flexera. There is no edition identified, and both applications have the overlapping evidence flag. We are using the Flexera agent to gather inventory. Digging further, I selected one of the machines showing SQL Server 2016. Looking at the applications tab and filtering SQL, I see two entries as per the attached. One for SQL Server 2016 Enterprise, and one for SQL Server 2016. From a licensing perspective it's not a concern as this VM sits an SQL cluster licensed at the host level, but I'm intrigued to understand why it is reporting as it is.

Any help would be super appreciated. I'm new to Flexera and still trying to get my head around it.

Thanks

(1) Solution
OK. It might be possible that this is an old license record from an old version of the ARL published by Flexera that no longer exists; but it has been kept on your system because it is linked to a license record.

If you don't want this application to be there anymore, you should be able to simply delete it (because the source is "Local").
(Did my reply solve the question? Click "ACCEPT AS SOLUTION" to help others find answers faster. Liked something? Click "KUDO". Anything expressed here is my own view and not necessarily that of my employer, Flexera.)

View solution in original post

(7) Replies

Looks like the same issue that was discussed in this post: https://community.flexera.com/t5/FlexNet-Manager-Forum/Lots-of-SQL-Server-installations-detected-without-edition/m-p/262780#M16769

I opened a ticket with Flexera and their recommendation was to delete the applications altogether. I did that and it seemed to work successfully.