cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Mulesoft - BOM, Parent/Child SKU Relationships

Hi, does anyone have any experience with deciphering and determining how to relate what appear to be parent/child SKUs in Flexera for Mulesoft (a Salesforce company)?  I know I've seen this kind of ambiguous roll up with Cisco products before, but I have no experience working with Mulesoft (reseller = Carahsoft) SKUs.

From the SKU structure, one can infer that the child SKUs are "lower" in BOM than the longer parent SKU, but I think it is inappropriate to think that the parent "contains" the child.

In these scenarios, do practitioners process both levels or ignore one in favor of the other?

We had previously submitted the SKUs to Flexera content team for processing, but I think they (as we Texans would say, "bless them for trying") probably profiled them incorrectly.

Detailed example from PO:

- Part No. 100-0001-67 (qty :1)
Anypoint Platform Base Subscription

Production vCore (qty : 2)
Pre-Production vCore (Qty : 4)
Salesforce.com, Inc. - 100-0001

- Part No. 100-0003 (qty :14)
Additional Production Core/vCore
MuleSoft - 100-0003
- Part No. 100-0003 (qty :4)
Additional Production Core/vCore
MuleSoft - 100-0003

Thanks,

David

NTT DATA Services

(4) Replies
Big_Kev
By Level 7 Champion
Level 7 Champion

Hello @dmathias 

This is really an interesting topic you have raised. I am happy to be proved wrong but in Flexera FNMS content library, the ARL library does has sort of "Hierarchy" (Parent--Child) logic and within those logic such as (Title Precedency or SoftwareTitleSuite etc), the parent does cover the installation reported from Child app etc.