cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Wise / Installshield comparrison

CChong
By Level 11 Flexeran
Level 11 Flexeran
My company is going fully AD soon and the want to push ALL of our applications as MSI files through Group Policies. They went out and purchased Wise For Windows Installer to repackage the apps. I am having a few problems with WISE and was wondering about other products out there to capture installations, thus I found InstallShield Adminstudio. Does anyone have experience with both Wise and installshield and have any critique on either. Also Installshield Admin is the package I would want to be using to create MSI files with correct? I am in the process of downloading the trial now, just wanted to get in a few questions.

Thanks

NP
(4) Replies
Hi,

I'm not really experienced on both products but I'm currently working on re/packaging tools to help my company choose one (or two). I think you can't compare Wise for Windows Installer and IS AdminStudio.

If you want to repackage setups, you should compare AdminStudio and Wise Package Studio.
At that right moment, I prefer using WPS, which I find easier to use and seems to have the same functions as AdminStudio. However, WPS is more expensive. I don't know yet about the quality of the support.

There are other tools like Lanovation Prism Pack and Chicago Soft Walls 4 Windows, but to me, the best, because they are complete, are IS and Wise products.

One last thing about Wise for Windows Installer. You should compare it to IS Developper. They both aim at helping you create setups, in the MSI format.

That's all for me.

Regards,
Jerome
CChong
By Level 11 Flexeran
Level 11 Flexeran
The product ytou need to evalute from wise is Wise Package Studio. they were the firddt to create a repackaging tool and MSI migration for sys admins. Admin studio is very bad copy of Wise Package Studio.

Our large organzation has standardized on it, plus they have three versions.
CChong