cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to retain source files location when converting InstallScript MSI project?

As a complete newbie to AdminStudio (just now installed AdminStudio 9.0 today!), I have an important question about converting an InstallScript MSI application to a Basic MSI app.

Is it possible to force the converted InstallShield *.ism project to retain the knowledge of the source files location? What I mean is this: in the original InstallScript MSI project I would get files from a known specified location, e.g., C:\MySourceFiles\Project1 . But after using the repackager and opening the converted *.ism project, I see that the source files directory has been changed to C:\Packages\ProgramFilesFolder. The same thing happens with all the other original source file directories; they are redefined during the conversion process.

This would be OK if the app being repackaged was a fixed, frozen project that was not under current software development. But the developers change the source file EXE's, DLL's, etc. and I have a build process that places the compiled EXE's and DLL's into known locations where the *.ism project file finds them.

I suppose I could modify my build process, but doing that for a great many separate products is not an appealing thought. It's also not an option to modify Path Variables in the converted *.ism project either, because the project conversion process placed all source files in subdirectories below a single top-level path variable, rather than using several path variables for different groups of files, as was done in the original project.

So, is there an option I can select such as "retain original source files location" when converting the project with the repackager?

Thanks in advance.
(1) Reply