cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do I keep the MSI package from rebooting?

CChong
By Level 11 Flexeran
Level 11 Flexeran
Which switch allows me to prevent the MSI package from rebooting after installation?
(17) Replies
There are MSI properties dictating behavior of rebooting. For a complete list of MSI properties, please refer to Property Reference.
CChong
By Level 11 Flexeran
Level 11 Flexeran
I'm new at Installshield. Is there a command line parameter that will work with msiexec to make certain that the PC will not reboot?

Or do I have to specify a parameter in the package itself before I build the msi?
CChong
By Level 11 Flexeran
Level 11 Flexeran
I found that the package properties can be set using Installshield Developer - I found a Rebootyesno [property and set it to "No". Is this what is required to suppress all reboots when installing?
You don't need to build those properties into your package, the properties can be specified from command line. If you have not, please look up command line options for msiexec.exe.

I am not familiar with RebootYesNo property, and please note properties are case sensitive.
CChong
By Level 11 Flexeran
Level 11 Flexeran
I checked all of the command line parameters that can be used with msiexec and none refer to the reboot option.
You might try setting the REBOOT property to Suppress (or just S) or ReallySuppress (or just R); please see the MSI Help Library page "REBOOT Property".
CChong
By Level 11 Flexeran
Level 11 Flexeran
I'm changing the property and doing a file save but it doesn't stay - it keeps going back to "Yes" after I run developer and open the package and select property manager.
CChong
By Level 11 Flexeran
Level 11 Flexeran
Please disregard the last post, I was not checking the correct package properties.
CChong
By Level 11 Flexeran
Level 11 Flexeran
Do i need to build the msi again once I change any property value?