cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

File Size limit

CChong
By Level 11 Flexeran
Level 11 Flexeran
I've been using InstallShield for a few years and am packaging some software for the US Navy. The biggest server install I've done. I repackaged Oracle 9i and the configuration. It works great with a prestaged database. The problem is I am trying to build the project with the .DBF when the files get over about 150 meg.

I get the error: ISDEV : error -6271: File I:\Oracle Files\....DBF. An error occurred building the MsiFileHash table record for this file. Verify that the file exists in the specified location.
MsiFileHash table successfully built

I downloaded MSIFiler and ran it against a test project. This cleared the error but the file was not in the test project nor did it install. Size 163 meg.

I tried loading files individually and with the dynamic file loading with the same results. I have to get this problem resolved.

Michael Stankewicz

I have files as big as 2.8 gigs I have to install. Anyone got a clue what's going on.
(6) Replies
From the information given, I presume you are building MSI across network. I have once encountered the same error while building MSI across network. Without making any change to ISM, subsequent build completed without any error. It is possible that temporary network congestion interrupts and causes the error. If the error occurs on a more regular basis, it is advised to keep everything on local machine, and build MSI to local machine.

Microsoft Windows Installer, according to File Table, allows file size up to 2,147,483,647 bytes. I haven't come across any documentation on expected behavior when file size exceeds the limit.
CChong
By Level 11 Flexeran
Level 11 Flexeran