cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Admin Studio and Office 2003 w/ SMS

first question... i'm running SMS 2003 and want to deploy apps. that's it. did I overbuy with Admin studio?

On that note... I have a new installation of admin studio and SMS 2003 for deployment. I'm a noob to both... and as I'm sure you can appreciate, it's already a long road.

I am trying to package... or "repackage" office 2003. I find the MSI, get it going, etc... and it actually deploys via SMS for me! Amazing!

BUT when a user tries to run office, it prompts for User/Location/Office Product ID code. Where in Admin Studio can I put this information in where it does not prompt the user for this? We are part of the MS Enterprise Agreement, and have one code for everything. |
Thoughts?
thanks for the great and already helpful forums! It's a shame that I dumped an additional TWO GRAND on support, but here... hours later... I haven't heard back from anyone. I pay MUCH less for upgraded support on other products and get literally instant responses.
Shameful.
thanks
_Tom
(4) Replies
You don't repackage MSI's generally ( unless its a really, really terrible MSI ). You create a transform ( use admin studios tuner ) instead or you simply pass MSI properties at the command line.

In office 2003 you are looking to populate a property called PIDKEY with your product key ( without the hyphens )

Off the top of my head a cmdline would look something like

msiexec /i PRO11.msi TRANSFORMS=mytrans.mst /QN

or

msiexec /i PRO11.msi PIDKEY=1124125125616123623672 /QN

Microsoft also provides a deployment kit with Office 2003 that contains a wizard utility to create its own transform without using Admin Studio.