cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Filtering on FlexNet Beacon to exclude login attempts to specific vcenters

Hi,

I'm relatively new to FNMS and hoping to better understand how the filtering option works on the beacon Password Manager.  We have an issue where we are seeing frequent remote login attempts to a number of vcenters in our production environment.  These login attempts are failing resulting in alarms getting raised and concern from the security team, and it is my team's job to diagnose and resolve the issue.  We have a scheduled rule set up to query vcenter inventory by calling the SDK webservice, and initially I thought the issue lay here.  However upon checking the VMWareInventory log I was able to see that these logins are actually successful, and much less frequent then the failed ones.   The rule is configured to execute once daily, whereas the failed logins are occurring every 30mins.   Upon further investigation I discovered that the source of the failed login attempts is coming from having the IBM PVU scanning option enabled, under Inventory Settings.   This makes sense as it's configured to run every 30mins and the checkbox to 'Perform remote scans against all known VMware vCenter and Oracle VM Manager servers' is enabled.