cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Device Status vs Asset Status

Hello, I have a question about Status.  In FlexNet Management Suite (cloud) when I look at All Inventory, there is an Asset Status for each computer that appears to be different from the Device Status that I see when I look at license consumption under a license's properties.  Is there a way to sync Device Status so that it matches Asset Status?  We had an integration built for us that takes a report from ServiceNow and updates the Asset Status field and I want that to carry into consumption so that when I look at license use I can see if a laptop was stolen or dispo'd.  Thank you for any insights you have, I am new at integrations!

(4) Replies

Hi jdalton2,

In FNMS, the status of an Inventory that is linked to an Asset will be defined by the status of the asset. The status of Inventories that are linked to an Asset can only be changed by changing the status of the Asset. If an Inventory is linked to an Asset, the field 'Status' on the Inventory will become read-only.

There is a direct mapping of the Asset status - default values are 'In storage', 'Installed', 'Purchased', 'Disposed', 'Retired' and 'Other' - to the two most relevant status value for an Inventory visible in the FNMS Web UI ('Active' and 'Ignored').

If the Asset status is either 'Disposed' or 'Retired', the status of the Inventory linked to the Asset will automatically be set to 'Ignored'.

More detailed information about the mapping of status values can be found in the FNMS Online Help on the properties visible on the "General Tab" of an Asset. On this page in the help system, you find information on the 'Status' property of the Asset and how the value of this property is being mapped to the status of any Inventory that is linked to the Asset.