cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

trying to create a service

hi all
i'm a newbie with adminstudio and here is my problem;

i have create an msi file with success but i still have a problem, i don't know how to create a service into my win2k pc.

i don't even know where to start.

thanks in advance for your help.
(7) Replies
You can search in the AdminStudio Help Library for "How do I install and configure a Windows NT service?" and this should bring up a help topic that can get you started.
If your question is in context with service not getting installed in your repackaged MSI, pls make sure you checked the option "Map NT service events to the Service Control" option in Repackager IDE before building the msi. This will populate the MSI service tables.
Praveen

i've checked in the repackager ide but i can't find the check box that you mentioned.

where is it?

thanks
What version of Adminstudio are you using?
ok i have found it but only after the msi is done.
is it possible to check it before doing my capture?

and you are right, i have package an app that have 2 services but they are not capture into my msi file.

thanks for your time.
adminstudio version 5.0
with value pack 1
Services are captured by default by the repackager. You will find the captured data in .NIR file.

When this file is converted to the MSI database, we populate the ServiceInstall table with the appropriate entries.

Here is more information on the files used by the Repackager:

Files used by the Repackaging Wizard:

1. isrepackager.ini

This is an input file for the repackager wizard.

This file is present in the . If the file is not found, then the Repackager Wizard extracts a default file from the resource and stores it in the