cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

error code 1603

Hi All, I hope I am in the right forum. I may sound confusing but I hope someone may be able to help me!

I am using Zenworks 7 with Admin Studio 9. First of all I am very new to the MSI installs and creations.

I think I have followed the steps to create an msi from the exe of one of the applications that we use in our schools. No matter what application I try to create an msi for I get errors.

First I get an error of "msi returned error code 1603" which I assume is a windows installer error! I cannot get any of my applications to install.

2nd I get an error of "The application cannot continue because a system reboot is pending" This happens when I run the application in the run line.

If I set up the object and point it to the exe file and add a Transform I get another windows installer error. "This installation package could not be opened. Verify that the package exists and that you can access it or contact the application vendor to verify that this is a valid windows installer package"

When I looked at the Transform verification I see another error of "ICE27" Unknown action MSIConfigurationServices" of Install Execute Sequence table. Not a standard action and not found in Custom Action or Dialog tables.

I have no idea of what this means???

As I said I am very new to Admin Studio and creating msi's, I was doing snApp shots with Zenworks. please note that I have not had any training with Admin Studio 9 and Zenworks.

Can you at least point me in a direction that I can get some answers or help.

I am using windows XP sp 2 with systems that have 512 Mbs - 2 Gigs in a school classroom setting

Thank you very much!
(3) Replies
Hi Kathy,

Error 1603 is quite generic (meaning basically ERROR_INSTALL_FAILURE).

Generally the way to work this out is to generate a logfile of where the 1603 is occurring:

msiexec.exe /i package.msi /l*v install.log