cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Uninstall based upon GUID

Ok, this is my first post and I am pretty new to AdminStudio even though our company has owned a license for the past 4 or so years. Previous admin was promoted so I get to try to figure out how to use this product. So far it feels like somebody handed me a car and told me to replace the engine. Ok, where the heck do I start?

Specifically, here is my goal and my problem:

Goal: install a program (Barracuda Web Shield Agent) through Microsoft Systems Center Configuration Manager 2007 that filters web content for laptop/roaming users. Each department will get their own deactivation password so its a bit more locked down. This is done through a command line arguement given at install time. Other information such as whitelisted domains and ip addresses are specified on the same command line as well. For example:
BarracudaWSASetup.exe /s /v"/lvemo \setup.log /qn AUTH_KEY=reallylongkeyhereforpurewire ALLOW_REMOVE=1 APPLICATIONS=iexplore.exe|firefox.exe|chrome.exe|safari.exe BYPASS=10.*;192.168.*;172.16.*;172.19.*;172.22.*;172.23.*;172.24.*;64.15.17.*;172.25.*;*.internaldomain1.com;*.internaldomain2.com SERVICE_URL=ple1.proxy.purewire.com USER_MODE=0 ADS=1 PASSWORD=adminpasswordhere"

Problems:
1) Previous Application versions need to be uinstalled. I have a MSIEXEC /X GUID command for each version's GUID that can be run to uinstall the version. I would like to run a detection when the executable runs that looks for those GUIDS in the registry and if it finds them, it will uninstall them, reboot and pick the installation back up.

2) Because my command line above looks like an exe wrapped MSI file I am going to download the MSI version of this and design the install so each department gets its own settings through an MST file at install time, but how do I address issue number 1 above through the installshield designer?
(3) Replies
Hi There,