cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Remove a Registry Value

I am brand new to Admin Studio. I've messed with it to modify MSI files, but now I've got to do something totally different. I need to create an MSI or EXE that will only remove a registry value. We're using SMS to distribute this registry change. For whatever reason, SMS isn't receiving the appropriate exit code after running a batch file to remove the reg value. I don't know where to begin. I've searched the forum and can't find any information on how to do this.

Thanks.
(11) Replies
Instead of using the .bat extension, try .cmd
Make sure you have "exit" at the end of the routine.

name your file like this:
regremove.cmd

SMS should get the proper exit code then.
That's a good idea. I haven't tried the .cmd file. I'll give it a shot and let you know.

Thanks!
As an aside, if you do want to go down the MSI route, you might look into populating a record in the RemoveRegistry table...
That's true, too. If it needs to be done as part of a package and not a stand-alone deployment, that would be the best way to do it.
Robert, Do you know of any quick references for doing that? I tried it once and had a hard time because I didn't really understand the help page.
I don't have a great reference for it; looking at the MSI help topic for it, one tricky part is the component reference, where the registry value you specify will be removed when the component you select is installed. (This is strangely different from the RemoveFile table, which is generally used to remove extra files when the associated component is uninstalled.)
Thanks Robert,
Looking at the RemoveRegistry table in Direct Editor, you would add a new item, set the root to -1 if it's a local machine setting, then the Key field to the key you want removed and the Registry value name.
I believe the component reference could be RegistryData_Machine for HKEY_Local data.