cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Kill process on uninstall??

All,

I'm sorry if this has been talked about before but I was unable to find exactly what I need after doing a search.

Please bear with me as I am completely new to all of this and apologize now if I sounds like a "newb".

I have an .exe that I want to turn in to an .MSI. I use the repackager to do just that and everything is working fine...except for the uninstall. When trying to uninstall, I get an error stating that another application has exclusive access to a file. Well the application that has exclusive access is the program I'm trying to uninstall...the .exe. I have searched and searched to try and find a way to kill that process as soon as I begin the uninstall with no luck!

I have tried to stop the service through the Control NT Services - Yes to Uninstall Stop - but that did not do anything.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!! Again I'm sorry if this is a simple answer...I'm new to all of this!

Thanks,
Mark
(1) Reply
AFMarkD wrote:
All,

I'm sorry if this has been talked about before but I was unable to find exactly what I need after doing a search.

Please bear with me as I am completely new to all of this and apologize now if I sounds like a "newb".

I have an .exe that I want to turn in to an .MSI. I use the repackager to do just that and everything is working fine...except for the uninstall. When trying to uninstall, I get an error stating that another application has exclusive access to a file. Well the application that has exclusive access is the program I'm trying to uninstall...the .exe. I have searched and searched to try and find a way to kill that process as soon as I begin the uninstall with no luck!

I have tried to stop the service through the Control NT Services - Yes to Uninstall Stop - but that did not do anything.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!! Again I'm sorry if this is a simple answer...I'm new to all of this!