Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

AdminStudio Documentation

CChong
By Level 11 Flexeran
Level 11 Flexeran
Greetings.

First, let me introduce myself. I'm a Senior Technical Writer at InstallShield, and am in charge of all AdminStudio product documentation (the online help library, the inline help, the Getting Started Guide, etc.). The purpose of this thread is to give you, our AdminStudio customers, a forum where you can discuss what should be improved in AdminStudio documentation.

What I'm most interested in is how we can craft documentation to better help you. Are there concepts you need to know about that aren't covered? Are there tasks you need to perform that you don't know how to accomplish? Are there ways you're using AdminStudio that need further explanation? What are you using AdminStudio for, and how can we support your efforts with the included documentation?

I want to focus on your actual documentation needs, and am open to any way we can better support you in your AdminStudio use. I will be monitoring and participating in this thread so I can try to address these needs in future releases.

Thanks in advance for your help.

-Eric
(5) Replies
Firstly, I would like to see a documented sample project, start to finish. From the launching of repackager, to building a Merge Module and the final running the conflict solver. While I think the individual applications are well documented I feel their interaction and the benefit of their interactions are lacking explanation.

Secondly, you have a well publicized function to "Directly convert ZENworks deployment packages into Windows Installer packages." And the accompanying documentation reads something like, "Click FILE -> OPEN then select the file you want to convert... The End" I think a chapter on this process would be in order in your next documentation release. Maybe a second chapter on the SMS process as well.