cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Jim1236
Pilgrim

Re: Tutorial to uninstall old version and then install new version in single installation

DLee65 wrote:
I would try creating an entry that leaves the max value empty. I am sure you require an entry in the Upgrade table to accomplish what you require.
Enter your minimum version, such as 1.0.0

Make sure that your upgrade code has not changed during the history of your product, if so add the previous upgrade codes that are eligible for upgrade.


Then, what setting do i need to set for the Include Min/Max setting to Yes? or No?
What if i leave the minimum version to empty, this should means it includes any version before the current installation version?
And leaving the maximum version to empty, this should means it includes any version after the current installation version?
Isn't it?
0 Kudos
PlinyElder
Pilgrim

Re: Tutorial to uninstall old version and then install new version in single installation

Jim, was there any resolution to this? I am looking to perform the same actions as you are.
0 Kudos
Jamesbo
Pilgrim

Re: Tutorial to uninstall old version and then install new version in single installation

tjohnson1 wrote:
The second scenario is the correct setup but you made the mistake of editing the prevent downgrade item instead of creating a new major upgrade item. The prevent downgrade item is used to check for higher versions but since you changed it to earlier versions you are seeing the message when you normally wouldn't.

Prevent Downgrade item: http://helpnet.flexerasoftware.com/installshield20helplib/installshield20helplib_CSH.htm#helplibrary...
Creating a Major Upgrade: https://flexeracommunity.force.com/customer/articles/en_US/INFO/Q211822


Thank you tjohnson! I made the same mistake in initially having altered the ISPreventDowngrade entry and the links you provided helped me fix it and get back on the right track.
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Jamesbo
Pilgrim

Re: Tutorial to uninstall old version and then install new version in single installation

Well I had it working but managed to break it somehow...
The old version I have uninstalls (all files and shortcut removed) and the major upgrade installs fully, but in the add/remove programs (ARP) I still have an entry for the old version, which throws an error if you attempt to remove it from ARP.

Any ideas or should I start a different thread? (for clarity I am not Jim1236)
0 Kudos