cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
PlinyElder
Level 7

Creating Custom ProgramFiles folder

I am using Installshield 2014 and im working in an Installscript MSI Project. I am also new to Installshield and working with a demo to learn the application. Help is greatly appreciated

[LIST=1]
  • I am creating a simple install that contains the "SelectFolder" dialog BEFORE the "SdAskDestination" dialog
  • The user can either take the defaulted Program Folder, which i have set OR create their own folder name
  • Once the user sets their custom name and clicks Next, they see the "SdAskDestination" dialog. The path is updated and correctly display the custom folder name the user entered in the previous step
  • Once the installation takes place, all the shortcuts get installed into the default folder name that was set NOT the custom name the user entered into the "SelectFolder" dialog.
  • From what i can see in the help docs, the "CreateProgramFolder" function must be created in a custom script and executed in sequence. I am unsure how to do this so far or maybe im missing a step somewhere else.

Where do i go from here?

Thanks
  • Labels (1)
    0 Kudos
    (11) Replies
    Evan_Border
    Level 8

PlinyElder wrote:
    I am using Installshield 2014 and im working in an Installscript MSI Project. I am also new to Installshield and working with a demo to learn the application. Help is greatly appreciated

[LIST=1]
  • I am creating a simple install that contains the "SelectFolder" dialog BEFORE the "SdAskDestination" dialog
  • The user can either take the defaulted Program Folder, which i have set OR create their own folder name
  • Once the user sets their custom name and clicks Next, they see the "SdAskDestination" dialog. The path is updated and correctly display the custom folder name the user entered in the previous step