cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

AdminStudio 6 Rookie - Needs Help

:eek:

I am very new to AdminStudio6 and I was wondering if someone can help me out. I have this java plug-in that I am trying to repackage into an MSI package so I can send it out via SMS 2003.

I downloaded this the Java executable and then imported it into my "Package" tab of AdminStudio (using the assistant). I pointed it to the .exe file, specified my project name and version and gave it a -sn command line (to run silent with no interaction right???).

The repackaging Method I chose was Installation Monitoring and then I clicked repackage.

The folder that I pointed the results to was on my desktop and it ended it with a .inc and .irp

I then went to repackager and opened up the .inc and converted into an .MSI. I couldn't do the .irp because I don't have the full version of this product. It then created an .MSI but when I tested it out, it asked me (the user to click next - so it WAS inter-active)

So is it possible to convert an .exe package to an .MSI file without the full version of this product.

Any tips. Truly any kind of help would be appreciated!!!

Sorry for the length of this email.

Thanks,

Chris
(4) Replies
:rolleyes:
I assume you have the AdminStudio 6.0 SMS Edition? The repackager is a good starting point, but how they could put that in the hands of a systems administrator without giving them any MSI training or giving them an MSI editor is beyond me.

I'm off on vacation for the rest of the month. If come next year your still stuck bump this thread back up and I'll try to give you some pointers.

Merry Christmas
Yes I am using AdminStudio6 SMS version. Anyway, thanks for the tip, I am an SMS Administrator that's just starting to build and deploy packages for our network. I thought this product would be a little easier than what it's turned out to be.

Just thought I would see if anyone could help me out.

Thanks.