cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
jaredfx
Level 4

Uninstall InstallScript install during MSI install

I've created a 'Basic MSI Project' with IS 2009 Premier for a new product which will be a replacement for an older product. The old product install was created using an 'InstallScript Project' with IS 11.2. The new install works great other than the fact that I need to uninstall the old product prior to installing the new one. How can I best accomplish this? I'm new to InstallShield, so any help would be appreciated. Thanks.
Labels (1)
0 Kudos
(3) Replies
mberterm
Level 7

Please see the help topics "Launching Executable Files" and "Creating the Response File".

Since Major Upgrades in the Upgrade view are used only to target existing MSI based packages, it may be easiest to use a custom action to call the uninstall of the existing InstallScript package.

For guidance, there are a couple of other threads that talk about this.

Perhaps in this type of scenario:
A. Add an entry in the 'System Search' view to look for something (ie, file or registry entry) specific to the previous package
B. Configure the search to merely place the results into a property
C. Add a 'launch EXE' custom action (see the help topic above).
D. The command to be executed is the uninstall command for your previous package (A convenient way of quickly finding that is to look through HKLM\Microsoft..\Software\CurrentVersion\Uninstall. Find your product's key and look to the 'uninstall string' data.)
E. Use the property from B. as the condition for the custom action of C.
F. Sequence the custom action somewhere between AppSearch and CostInitialize in the User Interface sequence, with the In-Script Exection property configured as 'Immediate Execution'.
0 Kudos
Sairen
Level 7