cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
ttembo
Level 3

SUPPORTDIR placing files in different location

Jump to solution

I am fairly new to InstallShield and I have a project of type Basic MSI and an installscript that should install crystal reports as a prerequisite to my installation using this line LaunchAppAndWait(SUPPORTDIR^ "CR13SP31MSI64_0-10010309.exe", "", LAAW_OPTION_WAIT_INCL_CHILD);

I placed my crystal reports EXE file inside the support files section under behavior and logic and under language independent. 

I have noticed that the reason why my EXE file is not being executed is because the installation is creating 2 folders inside the TEMP folder of the machine I am running installation on, and it is placing my EXE file in one folder and then trying to access the file in the other folder (see attachments). The EXE file is in the folder that starts with 133 but my SUPPORTDIR variable references the folder that starts with FDC. Why is this so and how can I make SUPPORTDIR variable in my InstallScript point to the correct folder.

Labels (1)
0 Kudos
(1) Solution
varul
Revenera Moderator Revenera Moderator
Revenera Moderator

Hi @ttembo,

Installshield will copy all files to secured location to install the setup.exe, that is the reason you are seeing 2 folder, one for setup.exe and other files one more folder with support files.

you can try below code to access supportdir using installscript in BMSI project.

function Supportdirtest(hMSI)
    // To Do:  Declare local variables.
STRING szProgram,szCmd,sMySUPPORTDIR;
NUMBER nResult,nvBufferSize;
begin

MsiGetProperty(hMSI,"SUPPORTDIR", sMySUPPORTDIR, nvBufferSize);

MessageBox("SUPPORTDIR = " + sMySUPPORTDIR, INFORMATION);

szProgram = sMySUPPORTDIR ^ "OpenJDK11U-jdk_x64_windows_hotspot_11.0.13_8.msi";

nResult = LaunchAppAndWait(szProgram, "", LAAW_OPTION_WAIT);

end;

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
(3) Replies
varul
Revenera Moderator

Hi @ttembo,