cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
RobSzy
Level 3

Problem signing compressed setup

Hi to everyone,

I've got problem signing my setup - and I have to say that I'm new in creating setups and signing...

I have a "basic msi project" and with a configuration with no compression for the setup my msi package will be signed correctly - that good 🙂 That's what I want 🙂

But when I put on the compression with optimation type MSZIP the msi package won't be signed. I can see that when I try to install my app, the typical message box appears saying that it's a unknown publisher. But in the output window eveything looks fine - here an example:

4>Language English (United States) built
4>Building .cab files...
4>Data1.cab built
4>Files built
4>Media table successfully built
4>Started signing certificate.msi ...
4>Performing Upgrading and Patching Validation
4>Started signing WinVisco.msi ...
4>Setup.exe created
4>Started signing setup.exe ...
4>Windows validation is disabled. To enable Windows validation: on the Tools menu, click Options and select the Validation tab.
4>Automatic update notification disabled
4>Default Configuration\Debug - 0 error(s), 0 warning(s)

Under "signing tab" I have activated signing for setup.exe and windows installer package - so it should work.
Anyone an idea why I can't sign a compressed setup? Is it normal?

Thanks and have a nice weekend - Rob

----------------

I'm using IS2016 Professional and VisualStudio 2015.
Labels (1)
0 Kudos
(3) Replies
RobSzy
Level 3

Update:
Well, maybe it's my fault: Under windows 7 everything looks fine, but under windows vista i have the problem described above... hmm... I will have a closer look at it on monday 🙂

Have a nice weekend - Rob 🙂
0 Kudos
RobSzy
Level 3

Hi,