cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
girit
Level 3

IS LE and VS 2010 questions

Hello,

I am very new to IS. I have been creating msi deployment packages by using MS Visual Studio (VS) for a while. Due to it's limitations and quirks, I want to try IS. I am reading the documentation, but I have some fundamental questions that the answers might help me to advance quickly.

1. Is it possible to load VS 2010 msi deployment project file in IS LE to create an IS project to avoid all the necessary steps to create a deployment project in IS?
2. I have some files to be placed and registered in the "\Windows\System32" directory. Which folder in IS folder structure I can place them?
3. In VS 2010, it is possible to set whether a specific file is to be registered by setting a property. How is this possible in IS LE? Does IS do this automatically if the file needs to be registered?

Thank you,

Cem
0 Kudos
(9) Replies
chiranjeevi
Level 7 Flexeran
Level 7 Flexeran

Hello,

Please find the answers below:

1. Is it possible to load VS 2010 msi deployment project file in IS LE to create an IS project to avoid all the necessary steps to create a deployment project in IS?

Ans: No, it is not possible, you have to add ISLE project to your solution to create a installation of your project.

2. I have some files to be placed and registered in the "\Windows\System32" directory. Which folder in IS folder structure I can place them?

Ans:To place the files in system folder:
>In the View list under Specify Application Data, click Files
>Right Click on Destination Computer
>Click on Show Predifined Folder
>Click on SystemFolder from the menu
>Add required files to SystemFolder

3. In VS 2010, it is possible to set whether a specific file is to be registered by setting a property. How is this possible in IS LE? Does IS do this automatically if the file needs to be registered?

Ans:To register a COM server/Specific file with InstallShield LE: