cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
toby_cn
Level 3

How to make size of the .exe smaller?

Could anybody tell me how to make the .exe smaller?
I used to create setup.exe by inno, but now i have to transfer this job to IS because my company decided to purchase this software.
I did the following test between IS and inno.

source file size: a mmorpg game software. total size up to 5.85G. with two big resource package in, one is 3.35G,the other is 1.42G.

the result of using IS:
is version : is 2010 premier evaluation.
project type: installscript.
parameter: almost default.
single setup exe file size:3.43G

the result of inno:
set Compression=lzma/max, and the single setup exe file size is 3.04g.

as a rookie, I am not familiar with the parameters of IS.
Could anybody tell me how to make the .exe smaller? Are there some compression type settings like inno?

p.s., someone told me to modify the content of Settings.xml in \2010\Support\0409\ by changing compressionlevel from "-1" to "9". I tried it, but it didn't work.
Labels (1)
0 Kudos
(7) Replies
Reureu
Level 10

Go for either a Basic MSI or an InstallScript MSI project.
There is an "Optimize Size" setting, which works as follows:

Specify whether you want InstallShield to use the LZX method of compression when building this release's cabinet files.

Using compression generally decreases the size of your compressed files, but the build process may take more time to complete. Depending on the number and size of the files being compressed, the LZX compression and the build may take hours to complete. Therefore, if you specify that you want to use LZX compression type (Optimize Size), it is recommended that your build machine have the latest hardware to minimize the time that it takes for the build to complete.

This setting is used only if your release is configured to compress some or all of its files.

I could not see any equivalent option for pure InstallScript projects.