cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
puresoul
Level 4

How and Where to set IS_MINOR_UPGRADE = 1

Hi,

Does anyone knows how and where to set IS_MINOR_UPGRADE=1.
Do we have to set this when we are creating minor upgrade (e.g. from product version 10.0 to 10.1)

I am new to installshield, and got stuck at one place where we are upgrading our product from 10.0.0.10 to 10.1.0.1 and we have to call one function during this upgrade, I am checking IS_MINOR_UPGRADE but it is not working.
Where from 9.0.0.10 to 10.0.0.1 IS_MAJOR_UPGRADE is working fine.

Please suggest some solution.

Thanks a ton.
Labels (1)
0 Kudos
(4) Replies
amar1943
Level 3

You need not set this anywhere.If you're using setup.exe, this bootstrapper sets this IS_MINOR_UPGRADE. Your product code might be different between the above mentioned 2 versions. They need to be same for it to perform a minor upgrade (and to have IS_MINOR_UPGRADE to be 1). Try dumping the upgrade to a log file, it might have some information that might help.
0 Kudos
puresoul
Level 4

Hi,

It is working now, I hav made silly mistake.
Actually I have not updated the upgrade code, now I have updated it and it is working fine.

Thanks a lot for help 🙂 🙂 🙂

Regards
0 Kudos
amar1943
Level 3

PureSoul,

UpgradeCode is a way to link products with diff ProductCodes to qualify for a major upgrade. This does not influence minor upgrades (in turn IS_MINOR_UPGRADE).What might help you is: same product_code, diff package_code, diff product_version should make it work out of the box..
0 Kudos
CChong
Level 11 Flexeran
Level 11 Flexeran

You should NOT change the Upgrade code if you are just installing a different version.

Upgrade code identifies a product for its entire life and you should never change it. In my case, each of the products I work on has had the same Upgrade Code for years.

What amar1943 is suggesting is the right way to go.