cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
liorafar
Level 6

How Do you get the full path name of file in dynamic file library?

Hi All!
Please help!!
When I install i want to get the full path of the destination files that are about to be installed in a C# custom Action(using Microsoft.Deployment.WindowsInstaller dll)
these files are in dynamic file linking.
I could only get the their specific names while doing the query ("SELECT FileName FROM File") on the session database.
Im new to Installshield And Im new to my company.
I want to prove myself usfull so please help me
Thanks!
Lior.
Labels (1)
0 Kudos
(10) Replies
Christopher_Pai
Level 16

As a starting point, consider querying the File table for the File ID's and then loop through that calling session format with

[#FILEKEY]

This will only work after file costing of course.

That should give you the paths. If it's safe to assume all files will be installed that might be enough.

WiX DTF also has another assembly that has an InstallPackage class. I've never tried this in a custom action but you might be able to use Session.Database and cast is as an InstallPackage and reference the InstallFiles property. I don't know that you'll like the way it refers to the paths though.
0 Kudos
liorafar
Level 6

Hi Christopher,
First of all I want to thank for your fast answer! , However It still doesn't work for me. I will try to explain exactly what I've done.
First, I want to mention that I'm not familiar with session.Format therefore I didn't really understand what you've meant by '[#FILEKEY]' so I've tried different ways.
In my MSI I install 5 files(1 is static file and 4 are dynamic file linking)
Moreover as presented below is my custom action C# code:

[CustomAction]
public static ActionResult CustomAction1(Session session)
{
Log.LogMessageToFile("Begin CustomAction1");
// getting database and retrieving File(File ID) column from File table
Database database = session.Database;