cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Custom Action to display Release Notes only after an Upgrade/Patch Installation

I am hoping someone could help me out with Custom Actions.
I have acquired the role of InstallShield Build Engineer when in fact I am a QA Engineer myself - due to that fact that the developer left our company, I ended up having to take this role on as well.

Up until now I have only had to maintain the exiting installation, but now there is a requirement to correctly patch our product (which up until now we were doing via WinZip).
I have figured out a lot of this out with the help of documentation but I am stuck on the ability to launch a Readme/Changelog after applying a patch.

Our file will be a HTML file and I only want to launch it after the user has installed an Update or Patch. This is not something I see being launched when a user does a first launch installation - but for simplicity I suppose on a first launch installation the file could have some info about the new/extended features since the last version of our product.

So I am looking to see if anyone can help me. I have found several posts about Custom Actions, but I'm just not getting the entire set of steps I need.

Can anyone please advise me on the best approach?
Should I add the Readme as a new Component and only install it when it is a patch or upgrade installation? Or should it be a in it's own subfeature with a release flag?

And then any further help for the custom action on the SetupCompleteSuccess dialog would be greatly appreciated.
Please assume that I know nothing and don't omit any steps.

Thanks anyone for your help in advance,
Ann Marie
Labels (1)
0 Kudos
(1) Reply
GrantK
Level 7

Hi Ann Marie,

Basically, you need to condition your custom action to run when you want it to run.

Steps: