cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
tooeasytoforget
Level 2

Copy from an inserted CD-ROM Drive to computer

Please excuse me for this novice question. However, I have been tasked by my company to create an installer that will work with our already released discs, and I have very little knowledge of Installshield 2008. So, if anyone can help I'd greatly appreciate it.

We've already released a program on CD & DVD, and now we want to make it vista compatible by creating a small downloadable patch installer that will take the place of the installer on the already mailed discs. Basically the installer we shipped doesnt work with Vista. So we need to make an installer that people can download and have it interact with a folder on an inserted CD/DVD.

The issue:
I need to create a web downloadable installer that will search for a previously inserted CD/DVD, find a folder on the disc, and copy the contents of it to the Program Files directory on their computer. However, I do not even know where to begin. I have been reading through all the tutorials, but I am not able to make sense of how to make a script, or even what to put in.

They purchased InstallSheild 2008 assuming that we were advanced users, but we arent. The only thing I know how to do is basically use the wizard.

Thank you.
Labels (1)
0 Kudos
(5) Replies
RobertDickau
Flexera Alumni

What type of project are you using? In InstallScript, for example, GetValidDrivesList will return drive letters for removable drives (or you could use SelectDirEx for the user to browse for the folder), and XCopyFile enables you to copy a directory structure...
0 Kudos
tooeasytoforget
Level 2

I assume the only type of project I can use to achieve my goal is InstallScript, correct?