cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
roboac
Level 3

unable to save file: c:\windows\downloaded installations ...

Hi,

this is my first project with installshield pro 2008.
I set the entry "demand of administrator rights" to "no" and made a "singleimage".
After starting the installation without administrator rights the dialog "unable to save file: c:\windows\downloaded installations ..." appears.
I know that I can solve this problem by starting the installation with "right mouseclick". But our customers don´t know this.

Any idea to solve this problem with installshield and not on the computer from the customer?

Many thanks
Labels (1)
0 Kudos
(6) Replies
arsirantala
Level 5

I take you run the installation in vista environment?

You must have the "demand of administrator rights" set to yes, otherwise installer will not be able to write to the directory under windows. workaround would to use some other directory which are not under windows directory. I personally have used "demand of administrator rights" as yes, since installer of our software packages contains component(s) which fail if "demand of administrator rights" is no.
0 Kudos
roboac
Level 3

I tried the installation on XP SP2 and Vista Pro with both settings "demand of administrator rights" yes and no.
There is the same problem.
By the way, after the failure-dialog a new dialog appears where I can specify a location to save the installation package.
I can choose a special folder and than the installation starts.
But this is to difficult for our customers.
0 Kudos
arsirantala
Level 5

If you have defined "Required Execution Level" = Administrator under Media/Releases - it should work. The installer should be then able to write to the directory under windows.

You can change the folder where you spool those msi files. the "Cache Path" under setup.exe tab (in Media/Releases) contains this information (as well as the "Required Execution Level").
0 Kudos
roboac
Level 3