cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
roger_hurst
Level 5

need more info on Custom Actions

I'm creating a basic MSI project. After my components are installed on the target machine, some of installed data must be integrated into installed packages already there, using an action I hope is equivalent to OnFirstUIAfter (in installscript projects). I've read KB artical Q112168 (creating and scheduling IS Custom actions ....), and accordingly (I think) defined my action using the CA wizard as: Run InstallScript code, specified function for Source, Synchronous (Ignores exit code), Deferred Execution in System Context, and After Register Type Libraries (Install Execute Sequence).

I've tried other approaches as well, but have not been successful getting into my code.

I'm pretty new to InstallShield, and would really appreciate some help with this. Thanks.
Labels (1)
0 Kudos
(7) Replies
RobertDickau
Flexera Alumni

Is it that your code isn't being called, or that it's being called but not behaving how you want? The scheduling (deferred mode, somewhere after InstallFiles) sounds right...
0 Kudos
roger_hurst
Level 5

Thanks very much for your response.

I put a messagebox at the top.

I saw a thread yesterday describing something similar to what I am trying: "LaunchAppAndWait" of msiexec to effect a child installation. So I tried their approach with child product installation condition: "NOT Installed and NOT PATCH" placed "After ExecuteAction" in User Interface Sequence. When I tried that the install displayed "Error 2762.Cannot write script record. Transaction not started." This occurred after "Copy Files".

For "Return processing" I used "Synchronous (Ignores exit code)" and for "In-Script Execution" I used "Deferred Execution in System Context".