cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
elangochd
Level 3

VBScript Custom Action - Where to Call?

I am very new to InstallShield and feeling left out with absolutely no help to even do simple things. If anyone can guide me in the right direction, I greatly appreciate it as this really drives me nuts.

I am using the BasicMSI project and use this condition for installing certain features:

ISIISMETABASECOMPATPRESENT AND (VersionNT=502 OR (VersionNT = 600 AND WindowsBuild=6001))

I have already set the custom action as per a KB article for testing whether IIS is installed or not using the ISIISMETABASECOMPATPRESENT property. This condition should evaluate to true only for Windows 2003 and Windows 2008 servers.

But when I tried installing on the Win2K3 server where IIS is installed, the feature was not enabled.

I want to verify whether the VersionNT and ISIISMETABASECOMPATPRESENT values are set properly and created a new custom action as follows:

1. Custom Action named: IISMsgBox, Type = VBScript, Location = Stored in Binary table, Source = "test.vbs" (which just has a messagebox).
2. Now I call this in the Next click of InstallWelcome and LicenseAgreement. But I am stuck on what event to use. I tried using the NewDialog, DoAction etc with Argument as "IISMsg" and the vb script never works or never gets called whatsover. I don't have any conditions set for this as well.

Can anyone help me or point me in the right direction as to which conditon/event/argument I should use to make this VBS beingcalled on my Next click?
Labels (1)
0 Kudos
(1) Reply
cbragg
Level 7

Firstly,

The best place to see if the property is being set is in an installation logfile. You can run your msi like this:

msiexec /i /l*v c:\mylog.log

At the bottom of your log you will see a dump of properties where you can see if the property exists.