cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
PerITech
Level 2

User created files get overwritten or deleted

🙂 Hi all! I have been using IS for many years now and have never had this issue. I use IS to install a custom software whereby user files get created on the local drive. As we make releases I use the IS program to update some of the application files but never (they are marked) delete user created files. In my recent IS we have included many PDF files that cause the installer to be 427mb created as a .exe that can be downloaded from our support site. Today we had a few users that had files missing or simply had other user files overwritten. It was as if the IS program overwrote files even though they are not marked. I was wondering that if some users instead of downloading the large file then running would have an issue if they simply chose to 'run' the install. Has anyone had this problem? This is the first time our install has been this size so I am assuming this is my issue, but I can't be sure. Our previous installs have been around 110mb with no issues. The OS varies from XP to Win7 32/64 bit. As of today, these issues are on Win7. I have tried many times to duplicate the scenario but can't. Any suggestions would be appreciated.
Labels (1)
0 Kudos
(1) Reply
joshstechnij
Level 10 Flexeran
Level 10 Flexeran