cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
xdunpealx
Level 3

Uninstalling files - They don't uninstall

Hey everyone,

I am still really new to this program and as the title says that is my problem. I am not sure what I am doing wrong.
All components have the following

Permanent set to : No
Shared set to: No

When i uninstall my program all the files are still there.

I would post a picture but any time i hit Insert Picture the website just goes gray and I cannot do anything.
Labels (1)
0 Kudos
(11) Replies
chad_petersen
Level 9

You will likely want to have MSIEXEC.EXE generate a verbose log file on the uninstall and see what that log file says. It would be hard to near impossible to guess what you have going on there based off of the information you have provided, but no worries, it does not matter - The verbose log file is a friend in these cases.

Chad
0 Kudos
xdunpealx
Level 3

chad.petersen wrote:
You will likely want to have MSIEXEC.EXE generate a verbose log file on the uninstall and see what that log file says. It would be hard to near impossible to guess what you have going on there based off of the information you have provided, but no worries, it does not matter - The verbose log file is a friend in these cases.

Chad

How would i generate this log? I tried running my .exe in command prompt with setup.exe /verbose "C:\log.log" or is this something i have to setup in installshield, I also tried looking up turning on windows logs for windows 8.1 but couldnt find in the registry where
0 Kudos
chad_petersen
Level 9

If you temporarily have it not bundle everything into the Setup.exe bootstrapper then you should find the resulting MSI and then you run the MSIEXEC.EXE with the command line switches.

MSIEXEC.EXE /L*v /x - to install
MSIEXEC.EXE /L*v /x - to uninstall

MSIEXEC.EXE /? - for help

Chad
0 Kudos
chad_petersen
Level 9

That should have read

MSIEXEC.EXE /L*v /i - to install
0 Kudos
xdunpealx
Level 3