cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
jstockho
Level 2

Uninstall not working for previous versions

I'm really new to InstallShield, but I have to get an installer working ASAP for work. Here's what's going on.

We used to use InstallShield 12 and had a bunch of old versions of software we check for during an installation. The installer should uninstall all old versions. This used to work using the following technique:

sProgram = WINSYSDIR^"rundll32";
uninstallCmd = "\""+COMMONFILES^"\\INSTAL~1\\PROFES~1\\RunTime\\0701\\Intel32\\Ctor.dll\",LaunchSetup \""+PROGRAMFILES+"InstallShield Installation Information\\{GUID}\\setup.exe\" -uninst";

if( LaunchAppAndWait(sProgram, uninstallCmd, WAIT) < 0) then
MessageBox("launch app uninstall " + app + " failed.", WARNING);
endif;

Now that we have a version running with Installshield 2008, this line only works for projects originally built with version 12.

The behavior is that the install waits for the old version to be removed. It doesn't prompt for restart, it just continues when it's done uninstalling.

With the 2008 versions, the uninstall line no longer uses the run32dll stuff.

I have this now:

sProgram = PROGRAMFILES +"InstallShield Installation Information\\{GUID}\\Setup.exe";
uninstallCmd = "-runfromtemp -l0x0009 -removeonly";

if( LaunchAppAndWait(sProgram, uninstallCmd, WAIT) < 0) then
MessageBox("launch app uninstall " + app + " failed.", WARNING);
endif;

This has two problems. The first is that LaunchAppAndWait doesn't wait anymore. It waits until Setup.exe is running and then it continues on (which means my new installation is under way while it's trying to uninstall my old version.)

The second problem is that it prompts to restart at the end of the uninstall.