cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
duddelar
Level 4

Unable to start application when files are installed to default installation folder.

Hi All,

I am new to install shield and created an application .I have files installed to default install location that is C:\Program Files (x86)\\\
But when I launch application on the desktop or from startmenu application is closing due to unable to access one of the xml file in the installation folder.
The same is working when I change the install location path and install to different location.
What can i do for application to work from the default install location.

Please help me in this regard.Appreciate your help.

Thanks & Rgds,
Ravi.
Labels (1)
0 Kudos
(11) Replies
chad_petersen
Level 9

One folder versus another should not matter. Any folder name should be fine for the installers own purposes as long as you have read/write access.

I suspect something else - like perhaps your program can't access something if there are spaces in the path? Something like that. There is nothing inside of an installer, generally, that you have to set to make it work in a default location.

The question to ask, in my mind anyway, is why can't your application access the particular XML file when you choose your default location?

You'd said "is closing due to unable to access one of the xml file in the installation folder." - this sounds like the problem to debug - could be space in the path is affecting your application - could be something else - but I highly doubt the installer itself is the issue. I think it is simply "exposing" the issue.

Chad
0 Kudos
rguggisberg
Level 13

Sounds like a permissions issue. Does user have proper permission to C:\Program Files (x86)\\\ ?
You did not say what you used for a "different location", but I bet it was something other than C:\Program Files (x86)\...
I would bet that a location of C:\Program Files (x86)\\\ would not work either.
0 Kudos
Stefan_M
Level 5