cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
DanielEgleston
Level 3

Skip Custom Action when Re-running Setup

I am an InstallShield novice and I am new to custom actions, so I apologize in advance if this is a trivial issue.

I have a single setup.exe that installs a windows application and lays down several database script files that are run using through a custom action which calls a custom MSBuild script.

When I run the setup.exe for the original installation or an update, the application files are installed properly and the custom action runs as expected. However, when I run the re-run the setup.exe, as expected, no files are laid down, but the custom action still runs. Since the database scripts files don't exist, the custom action fails.

I would like to skip the custom action when the setup.exe is re-run, but I can't figure out what condition to use. I want the CA to run during an install and an update, but not when the setup.exe is being re-run.

Is there a condition that would allow me to skip the CA in this case?

Thanks in advance for your assitance.
Dan
Labels (1)
0 Kudos
(3) Replies
RobertDickau
Flexera Alumni

To detect a first-time (MSI) installation, there's the condition Not Installed.

Depending on your update type, you can use the same condition that's on the SetupResume dialog to detect a minor upgrade, or use ISACTIONPROP1 (or whatever the "action property" in your major-upgrade item is) after FindRelatedProducts to detect a major upgrade.
0 Kudos
DanielEgleston
Level 3

I have lived with this problem for months, but I am following up on the reply because the issue is becoming more problematic for us.

Robert, I have read the Installation and Uninstallation Conditions article you authored, but the conditions seem to miss the one condition that applies to my situation.

The Not Installed condition works great if I want to run the custom action only for first-time installations.