cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
rosherman
Level 2

Shared DLL betwen two applications

Hi,
My company has developed two different applications , but there are some common dll's (not COM objects). Both applications has their own installer (based on Installshield MSI project).

1. What is the best way to distribute the commom (shared) dll's ?

2. Is there any method to handle different versions of these shared dll's ? (for example, if our customer installs an older version of Application A and a newer version of Application B (that contains also a newer version of the shared dll's)

Thanks,
Robert
Labels (1)
0 Kudos
(4) Replies
Holger_G
Level 10

Use merge modules for the shared/common components.
0 Kudos
rosherman
Level 2

Nick Rivers wrote:
Use merge modules for the shared/common components.

Thanks for your reply. But, I'm new to merge modules. Can you please povide me some info what are these modules, how can I create them and how does this solve the main problem (shared components betwen two different applications).

Thanks alot,
Robert
0 Kudos
klacounte
Level 6

What do you mean by "shared"? Is there only supposed to be one copy of the DLL on the machine that both applications load? Or do both applications have their own copy of the DLL?

If you only want one copy of the DLL on the machine then go with the merge module approach - it's a project type so just create a new merge module project for the shared DLLs.

If both applications have their own copy of the DLL then you don't have to do anything special - just include them in both installs.