cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
DLee65
Level 13

SUITE stage_only does not uncompress all packages

The suite stage_only option does not uncompress all packages. It seems to depend on the state of packages on the system where I run the command line. So if I am an administrator, I cannot uncompress packages like .NET 4.0 if my current system already has .NET 4.0 already installed. Also packages like 'Windows Installer 4.5" do not extract because on most systems it will already exist, however, there may be one or two within a domain that do not have this update and our MSI requires it.

For .NET framework this is not as big of a deal as I can document the limitation. But let's say an administrator uses a local computer where our app is already installed, many of our third party package such as Crystal Reports, Easy HL7 Reports, etc, will not be included in the files to be extracted.

Now the problem I am attempting to solve is documenting the process of deploying prerequisites on a system without SCCM or equivalent software, but does have active directory. With active directory we can only create a gpo with msi packages. Somehow I have to enable our customers to deploy all of the prerequisites. I was hoping to do this using a startup script.

Has anyone else run into this problem? Is there a better way to manage this?
What are the advantages of deploying the MSI for our product using a gpo rather than a startup script?

Is there any solution to the problem I am seeing with /stage_only? Note that my expectation is that stage only should extract all packages to the ISRootStagePath and not check eligibility requirements.

Thank you.
Labels (1)
0 Kudos
(3) Replies
MichaelU
Level 12 Flexeran
Level 12 Flexeran