cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
FluffyNapkins
Level 3

Registry searching and retrieving values

I'm new to InstallShield...
I'm wondering... can I tell installshield to search a branch of the registry and all its values until it finds a pair of values or a value.
then use that value (which is info to modify another part of the registry) to go to another part of the registry and modify it's values.
(the OS randomly creates registry branch names and keys when i install the device so i need it to search one part to find a value that leads to the other)

so in short.. I'm wondering how do I point to a branch of the registry and find a value... then take another value out of that same branch that leads it to another value in a totally different branch...
is this possible and what kind of template and settings do i need to use and start out with?
Labels (1)
0 Kudos
(7) Replies
Christopher_Pai
Level 16

MSI's built in AppSearch/RegLocator pattern doesn't support recursive searches. You would have to write a custom action to find your data. Once found and stored in a property, the Registry table can be used to record that data to another registry key/value.
0 Kudos
FluffyNapkins
Level 3

Okay so how do i go about accomplishing this and writing my own function to do this?
what do i need to do that?
(keep in mind i'm completely new but i've worked a little bit with other installer software such as installer vise and Wise for Windows Installer)
0 Kudos
Christopher_Pai
Level 16

That's a tall order to explain, espcially without knowing your programming background. First pick a language.... C++, InstallScript, VBScript
0 Kudos
FluffyNapkins
Level 3

I'll pick C++ and InstallScript...
though... wouldnt installer scripting be better for writing functions for an installer? (since it's the company's language for the product)
0 Kudos
Christopher_Pai
Level 16