cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
DWillis
Level 5

Registry Magic. Anyone have any magic dust?

Throughout the course of my installation, I have to add and manipulate registry keys.

Then, when I uninstall, I have to delete keys as well as modify keys to place them back into their pre-installed state.

My problem is this:
- How do I edit a registry key at install time?
I need to append a registry key string during install here, so how can I edit and add to the string?

- How do I edit a registry key at uninstall time?
The key which I appended with my information needs to be reverted back to its pre-installed state.

The problem I have now is that I only know how to add/delete entire keys, not just edit the data in a key. This is causing the dreaded blue screen of death, so it's important to find a solution to this problem.

I am using an Installscript MSI project, so it is possible to use Installscript if needed. However, this is my first time ever building an installer as well as using Installshield, so I am at the bottom of the learning curve with regards to IS and installscript and how to properly time all of this...

Any suggestions to assist me in getting on the right path is greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance,
D
Labels (1)
0 Kudos
(11) Replies
DWillis
Level 5

Anyone want to touch this one? Any ideas? Suggestions?
0 Kudos
Jeff2008
Level 6

To edit a registry key at install time without installscript:
- Add a system search to search for the value of the key and put the result in a property (for example, SEARCH_RESULT)
- Write "[SEARCH_RESULT]appended datas" in the registry key

To edit at uninstall
- This will require a custom action, you could write the [SEARCH_RESULT] to a backup key value when installing (this can be done without InstallScript), and use it at uninstall to revert back with a simple InstallScript function.
0 Kudos
DWillis
Level 5

Jeff2008 wrote: