cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Superfreak3
Level 11

Questions About Using Oracle.ManagedDataAccess Reference in a Custom Action...

Hi all,

First off, forgive me as this is probably entirely an Oracle Issue, but I'm wondering if someone out there has done something similar and experienced my issues. I have a Web App installation that handles both SQL and Oracle Db connections. We wanted users to be able to install this app on a server that may not have a local Oracle instance and didn't want those folks to have to install the Oracle Client. So, what I did was simply created a new connection info dialog for Oracle. A click of the Next button on that dialog runs the Custom Action in questions. All the widget does is grabs some of the entered values via PROPERTIES, cobbles together a connection string and tries to open the connection.

I should add here that I am basically a newb to Oracle workings!

The custom action has Oracle.ManagedDataAccess as a Reference. Initially everything was working great with what I'll call a direct connection or using this command line to open the connection...

connectionString="Data Source=(DESCRIPTION=(ADDRESS=(PROTOCOL=TCP)(HOST=mymachinename.mydom.local)(PORT=1521))(CONNECT_DATA=(SID=ORCL)));User Id=ITSME;Password=Password1;"

Working only with this connection, everything worked installing on both a separate server and pointing to the remote Db or installing directly on the Oracle Db Server. However, we're recently learned that we have to support TNSNAMES.ora. So, if this option is chosen, the widget cobbles a connection string as follows...

connectionString="Data Source=ORCL;User Id=ITSME;Password=Password1;"

This is where the weirdness comes in. To use TNSNAMES.ora our app has to be installed directly on the Oracle Db Server. For some reason, I cannot get this connection check to function properly. It just does not connect and returns...