cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
ciberr_bob
Level 5

Query to Create a new Database using Basic MSI

hey all,
i'm pretty new to installshield. Can anyone of you suggest me with some tips as to which type of project suits my requirement. Please suggest as to how to proceed.

my requirement is somewhat like this
i have an sql script which creates a database now i gotta create an installer which takes the input from the user which goes as the Database name and use this name to update my script first and then create the database.

Suggest me some tips to proceed and achieve this...
Labels (1)
0 Kudos
(23) Replies
hidenori
Level 17

You may want to consider using the SQL Scripts view in order to accomplish your requirements. Once you add a connection and your SQL script in the view, the SQLLogin dialog will be automatically populated at run-time. In the Catalog Name field on the dialog, you can specify a database that you want to target. The database will be created if does not exist when you click the Next button. Your SQL script will be executed when your application is installed.
0 Kudos
ciberr_bob
Level 5

hi,
i tried out running a few scripts after creating a connection object as suggested and i was even successfull in doing so...and i even added scripts which need to be run during uninstall.

how can i make use of the [INSTALLDIR] property in the sql scripts
i tried making use of string replacement feature which didn't work
please help me in this regard
0 Kudos
hidenori
Level 17

You need to use the Text Replacement functionality. Please see the community thread for more information.
0 Kudos
TheTraveler
Level 8

Hello,

I have been using Install Shield (IS) since IS 5.5. In all that time, I have had to create databases utilizing user input. This is the best method that works for me. Feel free to take a look.

ADO Objects Example:
http://community.acresso.com/showthread.php?t=152884&page=2