cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
stramels
Level 2

Prerequisites not installing

I am brand new to InstallShield. I am using InstallShield LE for Visual Studio 2010 and creating a setup.exe that has a prerequisite of .NET Framework 4. I selected Microsoft .NET Framework 4.0 Client in the Redistributable area. I set the TYPE to download from the Web and the LOCATION says Installed Locally. In the Requirements area, I set the .NET 4.0 Client Package is Installed to have the checkmark - Installer runs only if .NET 4.0 Client is installed on the Target system.

I can create a setup and it will run on my development PC. However, when I try it on a new PC that has never had the setp run on it, I receive the message that "Microsoft .NET 4.0 Client Package or greater needs to be installed for this installation to continue." When I press "OK" it displays the InstallShield Wizard Complete dialog. I press "Finish" and the setup ends and the .NET 4.0 Client Package doesn't get installed.

I am sure it is something that I don't have configured correctly in InstallShield LE. I have spent over 5 hours going thru it and reading the forum but cannot find a solution. Since I am new to this, can someone please let me know the steps necessary to get the prerequisites to execute during the setup?

By the way... I am uploading only the Setup.exe, Setup.ini and appname.msi files to the PC that I am trying to install it on.

Thanks, in advance, for your prompt assistance!
Stan
0 Kudos
(1) Reply
Keerthana
Level 8

Hi,

I understand that you wish to add a prerequisite to your setup. Please correct me I if my understanding is incorrect.

To add the prerequisite .NET Framework 4 the same can be selected from the list in the “Redistributables” view.