cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
mswlogo
Level 3

Possible to have auto uninstall/install MSI installer (with the same product GUID)?

I have been using InstallShield for many years. I've always managed to create an installer that will either automatically uninstall everything then install the new (ideally) or just install on top (ok but not ideal). Most of those installs were InstallScript based.

I'm trying to do an MSI InstallScript install (with minimal InstallScript, none if possible). I see too many companies REQUIRING MSI based installs. So I chose MSI InstallScript just in case I have to do some installscript but prefer do none. I know how to do this in InstallScript.

For inhouse development I don't want to have to change ANYTHING in installshield per build (which is completely automated under cruise control). Just Build It with latest EXE's and DLL's package it up in a setup.exe and let users install. It's a pain to have to Manually uninstall it for every build. I want it to automatically uninstall and proceed to the install when the user runs setup.exe (with no extra dialogs ideally).

Right now if the user runs the setup.exe they get a Modify, Repair, Uninstall dialog. I don't want that. I want it to automatically uninstall and then proceed to install with all the SAME product GUIDs.

When I truely do a release the rules will change and I will update Product GUID etc. as needed.

Under General Information I've tried Maintenance Mode On and Off (that looks like it runs optionally runs InstallScript Code). That's what so confusing it's so freaken hard to know what is MSI and what is InstallScript.

Under Upgrades I have Minor Set to Don't Prompt, Just Install
And under Major I have Uninstall and then Reinstall (I don't think this matters because I have not triggered a Major upgrade with new GUIDs).