cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Brian_Link
Level 3

Output Productcode to a file on install?

Hi folks - I'm new to Installshield (well, back after about 15 years) and of course have a hot issue:

I need to be able to output ProductCode to a text file along with my setup.exe. The current project I'm working on uses a Basic MSI Project. Is there some setting I can use, or could someone provide an example script to generate this file?

I would be most grateful. Thanks

BLink
Labels (1)
0 Kudos
(4) Replies
Evan_Border
Level 8

Brian Link wrote:
Hi folks - I'm new to Installshield (well, back after about 15 years) and of course have a hot issue:

I need to be able to output ProductCode to a text file along with my setup.exe. The current project I'm working on uses a Basic MSI Project. Is there some setting I can use, or could someone provide an example script to generate this file?

I would be most grateful. Thanks

BLink

You can easily accomplish this by using the Text File Changes view in the Installation Designer tab.

The steps are:

1. Add a dummy copy of your text file with text that you will replace using InstallShield's Text File Changes view.
In my example, I placed my text file in my app's main folder, [INSTALLDIR], and named it ProductCode.txt. The text file contains dummy text that the Text File Changes view will search for and replace:

2. Go to the Text File Changes view and add a new Change Set which tells InstallShield which file(s) to update.
In my example I pointed it to [INSTALLDIR] and specified my file name, ProductCode.txt (you can also use wildcards)

3. On the Text File Changes view, add a new Change which tells InstallShield about your new text.
In my example I told it to replace the text "ProductCode={00000000-0000-0000-0000-000000000000}" with "ProductCode=[ProductCode]"

That's it. After you run the install, go to [INSTALLDIR] and open ProductCode.txt and you'll see that it worked:

0 Kudos