Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
smh_2007
Level 3

New To InstallShield 2008

Hi To All,

I am new to writing installs.
I have been assigned the task of creating a server install for our software that would do the following:

Installs must be on Windows Vista, XP, Server 2003 and Server 2000.

IIS 6 or 7 must already be installed but, I need to determine which version is installed.

Need to determine where the default website is located.

Need to setup a new virtual directory.

Need to copy asp files and an access database to the new virtual directory.

Need to make sure that permssions are changed so that users can write to
access.

Need to register certain dlls.

Can you point me in the right direction, perhaps there is a template I can use. Of course, this is due right away (isn't everything?).

Thanks for your input,

Sharon
Labels (1)
0 Kudos
(11) Replies
Christopher_Pai
Level 16

If your company is interested in outsourcing, I could have this done in a few days. Otherwise your looking at a pretty steep learning curve to do everything that you are describing.
0 Kudos
davidh
Level 6

Most of what you need is in the "Internet Information Services" view and the "Files and Folders" view. Add your files to the Files and Folders view and set the self-registration properties to what you need. In the IIS view, create a new website and new virtual directory and by default it should install to the default website.

If you create a MSI (Basic MSI or InstallScript MSI) project, the version of the IIS will be stored in the IIS_VERSION property.
0 Kudos
smh_2007
Level 3

Hi,

Thanks for the advice.

I'm not sure I understand all of the directions you gave, as I'm a newbie but, I will be working on it.

This is what I did so far: