cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
shawny
Level 3

Need Help: Multiple Instance Websites

Hello all,
I'm BRAND NEW to installers in general and have only been using InstallShield for a week or so. That being said I would LOVE some help using InstallShield 2009 Premiere.

I've been tasked with creating an installer that will have the ability to create multiple instances of a website in IIS. The reason for this is that I have a .Net website project that is nearly identical for multiple clients except for some entries in the web.config. These differences are what differentiate each client, so each client requires the same functionality, but each with their own copy of the project, own host headers, etc. Im using IIS 6. Here is how it's supposed to work in theory:

FIRST INSTALL

1. When the installer is first run, there will be a dialog that asks the user what the client name is and asks for a value that will be inserted into the client's web.config.
2. The client name is appended to the project so that I can differentiate each client in the ARP (so it would read Project_ClientA, Project_ClientB, etc) and the directory structure is created in my C:/Program Files/My Company/My Project/Client name. I've got this piece to work.
3. A website and unique application pool is created in IIS that displays the project_ClientName that was entered in step 2. (In order to get this to work, I had to change the Site Number in the website property. I associated the website with a component because I dont want to have to use a virtual directory.)
4. The website is set to point at the directory created in step 2.
6. End initial install.

SUBSEQUENT INSTALLS

1. The InstallShield Multiple instance window comes up asking whether the user wants a new instance or to modify an existing instance.