cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Gil_Rozenberg
Level 3

Managing some files outside MSI package

Hi everybody, I’m a newbie at installshield so I hope my question is relevant to this forum.

I’ve got basic MSI installation made by install shield, which installing our company’s product.
Today, the installation is packing within the MSI file all the relevant files needed for successful installation, (e.g. our executable, some scripts, and some data files – mostly text ones).
The problem is that ‘Data’ file is changing rapidly, meaning it can be changed every few hours, while all other files remains the same (changes only once a week or so),
Since all files are packed inside the MSI file, there is a need to rebuild MSI each time the data changes.

We wish to separate this operation, so ‘Data’ files can be changed without issuing new MSI each time.
The problem is that we don’t want to just put the accessible ‘Data’ text file in the same folder as the MSI executable to prevent from users to change it.
What are my options to pack and/or encrypt all those ‘Data’ files ?, that it can be changed quickly, but will not be accessible to anyone, but the MSI installation will be able to extract and read them ?
Maybe some Binary conversion ? Of cause that zipping and similar archiving is not good (most of advanced users can overcome password protected archiving very easy).

Thanks in advance, Gil.
Labels (1)
0 Kudos
(1) Reply
DLee65
Level 13

Hi Gil,

It sounds like you have a MSI installer that has two major features: Application, Data. The data exists as text files that you do not want the end user to modify.