cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
RobertClark4777
Level 3

Is Premier (vs Pro) worth the extra bucks?

I've been developing applications for 25 years (as a one man shop) and have worked with a number of installers. The one that has given me the best, consistent results were the Installshield products. I've managed to do most of my work with the Express editions but my installations are becoming a bit more complicated. I'm very intrigued by the Try-And-Die feature in Premier. I could use some advice:

1) Are there any other reasons that a one man operation supporting, updating and building 20-30 applications, would want to consider the Premier edition over the Professional?

2) This is more of a technical issue. In the Express edition, my installs required a complete uninstall to update the product. Do the non-Express editions give me the flexibility to update applications without removing the previous versions?

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Robert
Labels (1)
0 Kudos
(5) Replies
gridman
Level 8

I can give you some information. There are a few differences between the Pro and Premier additions.

The Premier version offers localization, so if you are doing international installations in multiple languages, you will need the premier version. In addition, the Premier version includes a standalone build engine. This can be useful if you want to maintain a clean build system, and only have the part of IS installed that compiles installations.

Personally, I have used Professional for years and it's satisfied all my requirements.