cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
LennySh
Level 2

Installer that downloads the features from the internet

I want to make an install that has several different components, and most of them not actually be included in the setup.exe that they download. Meaning, I only want the files downloaded to their computer only after the have checked the features they want, and clicked next. Only the required files will be included, all the optional one's I would like to keep on either an ftp, or a website. That way they only download what they want. If I included everything, it would be a very big install file to download... :confused: Any Ideas..???
Labels (1)
0 Kudos
(4) Replies
lmoulder
Level 3

Hi Lenny,
I've done this for a couple of my installers. This may not be the most graceful way of doing it (I'm still fairly new to IS), but it seems to work. This is also assuming you're creating an InstallScript MSI installer.

First, create a new feature and set either the ftp or http location attribute to point to the file you want to download. The only catch I've found so far is that you can't embed a username/password set in the URL. Then create a function for the feature's installing action that downloads the file, starts the installer, and deletes the temp files.

Here's the script I use to download and install a feature in one of my projects:

function Tor_Installing()

string svTorPath, svTorDLDir, svTorInstallFile;
number nvResult;

begin

FeatureGetData(MEDIA, "Tor", FEATURE_FIELD_HTTPLOCATION, nvResult, svTorPath);
svTorDLDir = INSTALLDIR ^ "Tor";

// download the file and then store the filename
CreateDir(svTorDLDir);
XCopyFile(svTorPath, svTorDLDir, COMP_NORMAL);
nvResult = FindFile(svTorDLDir, "*.exe", svTorInstallFile);

// install
if (LaunchAppAndWait(svTorDLDir ^ svTorInstallFile, "", LAAW_OPTION_WAIT_INCL_CHILD) < ISERR_SUCCESS) then
MessageBox("Could not install Tor", SEVERE);
endif;